2011 – RD1&2 Race Review

Just a quick note on the season to date, first round went pretty much to plan. Managed to qualify on pole position with a last gap effort, I had been 2nd, then 3rd, and dropped to 4th but managed to get a tow to put it P1 by less than a tenth.

The TV coverage is pretty much spot on (http://paul-wilson.net/2011/04/13/oulton-motors-tv-coverage/), but race one rounded the first corner 2nd behind Andy Macmillan and later in the lap got over taken by Gordon Sawyer. I waited a couple of laps to see what was unfolding then overtook Andy who had been displaced by Gordon for the lead and a lap later overtook for the lead which I kept for the whole race. Nice start to the season.

Race two was more difficult, again rounded the first turn behind Andy Macmillan but lap two the safety car came out after an incident for JJ O’Malley. On the restart I overtook Andy after a lap or so. We overtook a couple of times and then held the lead until the last lap. Unfortunately for me someone had dropped oil or coolant down at cascades which nearly caught me out one lap and subsequently I was going in a bit too cautious allowing Gordon Sawyer a chance to close up and challenge me. On the last lap Gordon  tried to go around the outside at Island, then square the corner off and try and get the run down the outside to shelloils. Unfortunately he got it wrong and punted me off backwards. Worse was to follow for Gordon who took a big hit into the tyres at 60-70mph. I rejoined and finished 9th. Should of been two wins, but a first and a ninth, but lead most of the meeting.

Car is fine, a small dent in the rear panel and a cracked wing which is already sorted. Already looking forward to Snetteron. Thanks to SPY Motorsport for turning out such a well prepared car.

About Paul Wilson

Having a father who raced and a passion for motorsport it was always an ambition to go racing at some point in my life. In my twenties I raced Motocross and Enduro with some success, but I moved onto 4 wheels in 2008 and have not looked back. 2014 will be with Aston Martin Racing in the Vantage GT3 at the VLN with Stuart Leonard. When I'm not racing, I generally spend my time working out how to go quicker and how I'm going to pay for it all......

Posted on April 14, 2011, in Caterham, Motorsport, Racing, Video and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

